The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Muggins

I was working late today so was home to hear the doorbell ring.
I opened the door to a spotty yoof complete with large holdall, a tatty ID card and a right-wing haircut. He gave me the old spiel about trying to get back on the straight and narrow; no more hanging around on street corners throwing bricks at passing motorists; trying to earn a bit of money etc.
Unfortunately I knew we needed a new ironing board cover (and it's B's birthday next week - she'll be overcome!) so I ended up falling for the sob story and even bought some bloody tea towels from him. He shook my hand. I think he was overjoyed that someone under retirement age had given him money without recourse to the usual sharp knife and threats.
The ironing broad cover is designed to fit a boogy board I think. And I burnt it within 5 minutes. Made in England you see - not the usual Chinese high quality. I did do all the ironing though - so some good came off it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.