Autumn Colours

I don't know why I keep thinking that the traffic towards Copenhagen isn't too bad on Saturdays... It can be! And lots of road work too, which delays the traffic.

But this morning, I thought that the autumn colours would be really pretty in Vestre Cemetery, where my mum is buried, so I decided to drive to Copenhagen and take the dogs for a walk there. It was a loooong drive (90 km - but roadwork most of the way), but worth it.

Vestre Cemetery is a wonderful place. It is big - very big and there are lots of different sections. My mum is buried in a special section for officers of the Salavation Army and there is a section for muslims too, a Faroe Island section, a section for German soldiers, who died in Denmark during WWII and a section for 19 British soldiers, who died in Denmark in 1919 on their journey home from captivity in Germany. And many other sections...

Many Copenhageners use Vestre Cemetery as a quiet and peaceful place, where they can get a break from the busy city life. It is a beautiful place and I love it there.

I took the boys for a walk - we walked for an hour and we had only been in a small part of the cemetery as it is so big!

I brought flowers for my mum and treats for Bridie. Bridie was my mum's dog and she died a couple of days before my mum. I am sure they are still together, so when I visit my mum, I always bring treats for Bridie :-)

It was a beautiful day - misty but not cold and the colours were as lovely as I had expected. More pictures here.

I have blipped Vestre Cemetery before.

I stopped and had lunch on the way home.
A wonderful day indeed.

See you tomorrow.
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.