Candles of the Saint's Day

It has been bank holiday in Finland today, only restaurants open. Lovely weather, sunny and cool, -3c and all of the branches and grass was light, white, frozen in the morning.

I woke up without an alarm clock, felt fit and nice - and baked a cinnamon cake and an apple pie before the rest of the family woke up;) And later we had a nice sunny walk around the home lake with my hubby - and another walk with our neighbour. I guess these were the first this long walks I have done after the knee injury last december. Felt so good to walk, but afterwards I have had a bit of a strange feeling in the knee.

In the evening we (the whole family) visited in cemetery, as we all finns normally do in Saint's Day. It is a normal old tradition, to lit candles to remember the saints of ours, but some also have new halloween traditions - and parties with costumes.

The blip is from the memory statue where you can leave a candle if your loved ones are buried somewhere else - as we do too. In this particular graveyard I visited to the grave of my grandmother and other relatives, and I lit also a memory candle on the grave of my spare grandmother.

Silent people, children, youngsters, elderly ones.
Sparsely growded cemetery.
Memories.

There was cool breeze and -0c in the evening, which is maybe the worst combination of weather with cool humidity (oh well, the slushing rain was missing tonight ;))... We all felt so cold walking in the middle of candle light sea of large dark graveyard, really.

As we got back we warmed up the sauna - just lovely!!!

Have a nice weekend, all!

Susanna

ps I dared to enter this photo to the Lovers of light -competition as we have here so few light hours, but we have some other kind of light instead - candle light!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.