Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

Eddie 'The Eagle' Edwards

I went to do pics of a 'canicross' event today, country running with dogs, and always good for photos if you find the right dog (eager!) and location (not in the way...). As I walked the course to get to the start line, the organiser casually said to me, "this is Eddie....the eagle...". I wasn't quite sure if I had heard the last bit, so I hung around making polite conversation about the weather and such like. When someone else came up and said 'pleased to meet you Eddie' I had to clarify who Eddie actually was, slightly embarrassed to check. And yes it was one of the ex-Olympic ski jumperwho I remember well was a huge personality 25 years ago following his valiant attempts to compete for GB.
I think after all these years, he's used to doing a photo pose with many medals, so I claim nothing for this blip other than as a record of unexpectedly meeting an Olympic sportsman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.