The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Murder most Foul

Read TML's story first!

We travelled south via Dumfries, in the Scottish borders, because my sister Tanya (TMLHereandThere) wanted to see the former Benedictine convent where both my grandmother and grandfather had been sent, from their homes in India, in the days of the British Raj. My grandfather was only three when he was sent there. He had his sisters with him, but even still ... they only saw their parents once every two years. Grandfather or Daddo, as we called him, loved the nuns, so this is not an unhappy story, thank goodness. Later, my grandmother Elspeth went there to become a nun. She got as far as novicehood and, well, Tanya will tell you the rest, I am sure!

The former convent is a great red sandstone building on a windy hillside overlooking the town. It's in private ownership and parts of the building are leased to a playgroup and Christian youth group. Most of it is now empty. I think my feelings of dismay at its grimness were highlighted by the fact that the location was used for the filming of The Magdalene Sisters, which no one could call a joyous film. The brisk wind and lashing rain added to the atmosphere of imminent doom.

CleanSteve moved the car round and I was about to get in when I noticed what seemed to be the remains of a burned out fire. I wandered over to look, and saw this horrid sight.

Who on earth murders mannequins?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.