MonoMonday #35 - Old and New ........

................ The Book and The Reading Glasses.
(sounds like a story in its own right)

My journal entry for Skeena's MonoMonday Challenge this week.

The glasses are a new pair of off-the-shelf readers (non-prescription) - as I travel quite a lot I don't like to take expensive prescription glasses with me and these you see here double up for reading and for my laptop ....

The book was given to me by my Mum and Dad when I was about 6 or possibly 7 (1958/59) - I imagine it was a birthday or Christmas present .... it was my first "proper book" being a hardback - and it measures around 13" x 10" (32.5 x 25cms).
The cover and the spine have some damage but it has been very well read and is very much loved even now.

The photo is of the first illustrated page inside the book and I just love the lion - he was always my favourite.

The writer of the Wizard of Oz is L. Frank Baum .... an American author chiefly known for his children's books but, in my opinion, what makes this book so special are the illustrations - these have been done by Libico Maraja - an Italian who illustrated many, many books (please click his link to see some more of his beautiful work).
I may well photograph some of the others for future blips ........

Thanks to Skeena for hosting again this week - and thanks also for the varied subjects you have chosen so far.

~ Anni ~


Thought for the Day


Promise me you'll always remember:

You're braver than you believe,
and stronger than you seem,
and smarter than you think.



Christopher Robin to Pooh
(A.A. Milne)



NIKON D5200 : f/10 : 1/20" : 40mm : ISO 1250 : EV +0.7

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.