Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

MonoMonday Challenge - Old & New: Wireless

Wireless Old & New: When I was a lad 'wireless' had a different meaning. It was another word for the radio and this one, which has unfortunately seen better days, sat in my parents back room. My mother would listen to the Third Programme or Home Service (now Radio 3 and 4), and on Sunday morning it would be tuned to the Light Programme (now Radio 2) to listen to the Ken Dodd Show or the Billy Cotton Band Show (or the Black and White Minstrel Show, but we aren't allowed to mention that nowadays) while the Sunday dinner was cooked.

Nowadays wireless means you don't need a cable from the source, and I have to say I love this little Bluetooth speaker. The sound quality is superb but is it better than the warm sound we used to get from the old valve radio? I'm not sure and until I find a way to replace the ones in the old radio, I can't compare.

The music source has changed too - we used to go round proudly carrying our latest LP purchase under our arm. Digital music means we can carry more, but surely doesn't have the same street cred as carrying round the new Stones Album on the first day of issue, complete with kaleidoscope cover!

Thanks to Skeena for hosting the challenge once again this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.