Let good luck and virtue lead us!

Well, I think that's what the inscription says, but my O Level Latin is struggling and I cannot find a precise equivalent to this inscription online. Any help is very welcome.

It was the juxtaposition of the 18th century doorway complete with inscription and the late 20th century restaurant sign that struck me. Not sure that sort of thing would be allowed in the UK...

Very dense day of reading and writing. Good progress being made. No swimming though - the sun has gone, at least for now.

Update: a friend weighs in by email "Fortuna and virtute are ablatives not nominatives so it must be something like, 'Lead with with fortuna and virtue. Fortuna was the godess of luck (good or bad) and also fate. I wonder if there is any reference to Macchiavelli who I think talked of the necessity of both for the leader."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.