Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Strasbourg - Place Klebèr

Last night Luke and I had a very pleasant Italian meal sitting outside...in November - it is unheard of to be comfortably eating outdoors in November! This morning I packed and then went for a last wander around the central part of the city - I did not even need my map, I know it quite well now. The weather is set to turn colder this week, and early this morning workman were out putting up the supporting wires for the street Christmas decorations and lights - I think it signified that their beautiful late summer is now well and truly over and it was time to think about Christmas. Strasbourg has a very well known Christmas market, apparently one of the best in Europe. Luke is looking forward to being there to experience that and the Christmas spirit in the city.

This is a view of Place Klebèr just as the sun was coming over the roofs of the buildings. It was named after named after General Jean-Baptiste Kléber, born in Strasbourg in 1753 who was a general in the Napoleonic Wars. Under his statue is a vault containing his remains.

This is the main square of Strasbourg, and every year a huge fir tree (30 m) coming from the Vosges mountains is erected there. They were busy erecting it this morning and you can just see it in the left hand corner.

I loved my short visit to Strasbourg and can highly recommend it. I am now home again, with Luke who returned with me, as he is writing a university entrance exam on Wednesday and has a day at school tomorrow with some of his teachers to help prepare for it. He goes back to Strasbourg on Thursday so a very short visit for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.