Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red

Got the train to London at 10am. 3 hours later I arrived at Kings Cross. Tube to Tower Hill - it was packed. Hundreds of people got off and it was slow progress out of the tube station and across the road to The Tower of London. Then more queuing to get into the grounds and join the thousands walking around to see the POPPIES

Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red sees the Tower of London's famous dry moat filled with over 800,000 ceramic poppies to create a powerful visual commemoration for the First World War Centenary.

Its a wonderful scene - poppies all around the MOAT. The sun was shining and everyone was enjoying the scene. Bit difficult to get good photos as the sun was shining too brightly at times. I decided not to crop the crowds out of my blip shot as they were part of my day. Look LARGE for more detail.

I wandered around the area near The Tower of London, had an ice cream, walked across TOWER BRIDGE ,went to St Katherines Dock and saw HippopoThames. This piece of artwork was made to launch the inaugural Totally Thames season of river events.

Then fought my way back on to a tube and got off at Liverpool Street. I was really at a bit of a loose end. Not enough time to go far afield and too much time just to go back to Kings Cross.

Anyway I mooched around Liverpool Street Station for a while - went outside but it was pouring with rain so I quickly took this shot of The Kindertransport statue and retreated back inside. In 1938 and 1939 ten thousand unaccompanied Jewish children were transported to Britain to escape persecution in their hometowns in Germany and Austria. These children arrived at Liverpool Street station to be taken in by British families and foster homes. This statue was erected in 2006.

Then I got the tube back to Kings Cross and had a wander around St Pancras. Bought a sandwich and some fruit from M & S and ate them while watching the world go by.

Caught the 6.30pm train back to Newcastle. The train was quite empty. I arrived at 9.40pm. Home by 10.30pm.

Neil was here when I got home. I had asked him to come today so he could feed the cats, turn the lights on etc.

I was really glad I made the effort to see the poppies but I would think very seriously about going to London and back on the same day again. Too much travelling time.

The Forum Challenge today is Tuesday Time - past. present or future. My blip includes all three. The present - seeing the poppies, the past - remembering the lives lost in the First World War and the future - I am eagerly awaiting my own poppy as I have bought one which will be sent out when the display is taken away from the Tower.

Steps today - 17.587 ( Amazing considering I was sat on trains for 6 hours )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.