Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Natures Own Fireworks

I called into Peckleton on the way home from work for a walk in the dusky twilight, and to see the setting sun. It was a nice autumn evening with a hint of mist forming, a bit of a bite in the air, and a hint of wood smoke. The crows were cawing and circling. Perfect.

While I was taking a picture of the sunset, a car pulled up next to me and the lady driving enquired whether I was birding, and I said that I was photographing the sunset, but birds interest me too. She told me where she regularly sees a Tawny Owl on an evening.

I've never seen an owl in the wild, but when I was at Hawes in September there were several owls in the trees near our cottage as you could hear them quite loudly calling to each other, but I didn't seen any of them while I was out in the evening taking star pictures. I think I might go back one evening armed with my binoculars to see whether I can spot one.

I have chosen this picture of the sunset as I quite like the hint of rays of light above the clouds. It was quite challenging to take this picture as the sun was so bright, I used two grads to try and balance the sun with the rest of the image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.