Merchant lane c1980

having been following Circus Girl over the last several days, her visit to Glasgow and her brilliant street scenes and creepy lanes etc I remembered I had an old photo from a just down the hill from her Trongate shots...
I am fortunate to have access to Hasselblad Flextight scanners and for the last couple of years I have been scanning my old negatives and trannies with a view to photoshoping them into the image I would have liked to create at the time but couldn't. Photoshop allows us to do so much with an image especially with regards to tonal range, shadows and highlights, retouching damaged or unwanted elements. Of course you could do most of these things in the darkroom, but it would often take hours if not days to achieve what you were after, Photoshop allows us to do these things and see the changes almost instantly.
The negative of the old lady above is badly underexposed, scratched and very grainy, either from poor processing or me pushing the film. Here is today's 2014 version of a c1980 image ... I hope you guys like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.