Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Balm to the heart-sick soul

I spent three splendid hours with LaurieT at the Chinese Garden. Our friendship is deep and strong, and we chatted without end about family, children, art,  and the work of the soul. She has signed up for a workshop on social activism as kinship rather than service, and we talked about that, and about class and privilege, as we strolled around the special exhibition of flower arranging. I caught her here gazing at an arrangement of chrysanthemums made to look like a dragon.

We referred to this Adrienne Rich poem, which we both love:

My heart is moved by all I cannot save:
so much has been destroyed
I have to cast my lot with those
who age after age, perversely,
with no extraordinary power
reconstitute the world.


She has pretty much abandoned Blip for other priorities, and we didn't even speak of it today. In fact I didn't get her permission to post this. I hope it's OK with her.

P.S. I re-enabled comments, but I forgot to "Save," so comments still can't be left. Sorry. I've now saved the change for the next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.