Keeping Promises

Day two at Murrayfield started as well as day one. We had another fantastic set of volunteers to help lay out the 'As One' display (now that's it over I can tell you). It was a lovely crisp morning and things went according to plan.

And then the plan changed. The organisers asked for someone to be on hand until 3:30 pm in case anything happened to the cards. At 3 pm I got a call - it had started to rain. Could I sort it out? Sure... To cut a boring story short, I think it all worked out in the end - what do you think?

Scotland 41 - Argentina 31

By the time I got home I was very tired and the last thing I wanted to do was go out again and be sociable but I had promised a friend to go to a gig of a fellow Albertan, the wonderful James Keelaghan. I'm so glad I was raised to keep my promises. James and Hugh McMillan put on a great show and I smiled pretty much throughout. You just can't beat live music!

Another friend of ours, a Scot, said afterwards that it was good to hear Canadian folk music, something different. I was thinking how wonderful it was to hear something familiar. James kindly played this song for me. You can take a gal out of the prairies but you can't take the prairies out of the gal...

Thank you, James. I still owe you that pint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.