PeterMay

By PeterMay

Home Town

As I wandered around my home town in France today, waiting for my car to be serviced, I marvelled anew at how beautiful it really is. When you live in a place you stop seeing it the way you first did, and it is a great thing to be able to peel back the veils of familiarity and see it once more with fresh eyes. Dependent upon weather, I might blip a few views of it over the next few days.

I was just going to walk into town from the garage, but they insisted on giving me an electric car to try - a Renault Zoe. My first time in a 100 percent electric vehicle, and it made me think a little of a souped up milk cart. Transmission whine was the only thing to be heard, but you have to be careful, because pedestrians don't hear you coming. Online it says it has a range of 210 kilometres, but the garagiste told me 120, which would be no use for me. But an elderly lady stopped me to ask about it (there were 0% emission panels on the doors), and she thought it would be ideal for her - if only she could afford it. With a starting price of over €22,000, it's long on price and short on distance. So it has a way to go yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.