1000

1000.

I can't believe that I have stuck at something for soooooo long!

I was pleased earlier in the week when I realised that my 1000th Blip entry was going to fall on the weekend. At least I had the opportunity to take a picture at the time of day when it suits me. It took quite a bit of patience waiting for a "1000" shaped gap in the clouds, believe me!

What has my Blip been for me recently. Well, on occasion it has been a bit of a chore trying to make a daily entry. After nearly retiring at 400 I decided instead that if I was going to do this thing I wasn't going to take it too seriously. Up until then I had been trying to get 100 hits a day and to wow others with my photographic skills. The problem was that I ran out of photographic mojo. So from 400 onwards this has been more of a diary than a place to exhibit my photography. I have a couple of trademark photos that are easy to do after a long day at work but other than that I am pretty much spent.

Where to from here? Well, probably not straight away but soon I want to scale back Blipping on a daily basis and instead uploading something when I have either taken a nice photo or if I have something interesting to say. There isn't really much point in posting the old "got up, went to work, worked, came home, made dinner, had a drink, went to bed" Blip every day. Having said all that I can't just stop Blipping every day because Blipfoto has been such a part of my (and Jo's) life for nearly 3 years. The odd occasion when I have had a day off I have felt a bit disappointed in myself.

On the other hand I might start project based blipping. One week of portaits, maybe a week of black and white. Just to break the mould of what I usually do and continue to do because it is easy.

If this all sounds a bit doom and gloom well it isn't meant to. What I am trying to say is that I would rather have quality than quantity. Blipfoto has been a great place to vent some fury when I was in my last job, trying to finish an adult pre press apprenticeship while working for a narcissistic prick. Then for the past six months I have really enjoyed my new job so instead of racing out at the end of the day to seek a Blip, I am rather putting in a bit of extra at work. In other words my focus has changed.

Thanks Joe and Co at Blip Central, and thanks also to those who have made comments on my Blip, even though I don't very often reply with comments of my own. You will have to believe me when I say that they are all read and appreciated, not just by me but by Jo,my silent Blip partner, who never misses scouring the Blipfoto rated and spotlight enties on top of reading all of my comments.

Right now I am about to fire up the BBQ with Jo and some friends. I might even have few celebratory drinks.

Now I know I have revealed this method before but for those of you who think I am bending the Blip Central rules, here is how I did it: With the Lasso tool I drew the 1000 shape, cut and pasted it onto a new layer, colourised it, saturated it, feathered the edges and distorted it. Simple as that. No graphics used at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.