Cockle Spit, Spot The Seapies

I went to The Homestead today for a site meeting about trenching for new electricity cables. We finished our business by about three thirty so I decided to go for a walk at Bradwell Cockle Spit SSSI. I had checked and knew high tide was early afternoon so was hoping that there might be a concentration of waders on the beach.

I got some shots of an egret on the way but there were very few waders to be seen, though I could hear the plaintiff cries of curlews and the piping of oystercatchers. I loved standing on the cockle spit in fading light completely alone.

If you look carefully at my pic you can see a pair of oystercatchers on the remains of a Saxon fish trap. The barge is one of a number sunk to protect the spit from erosion.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.