The great uncle I never knew

Uncle Leon, my grandfather Josselyn's brother, killed in the last months of World War I. I posted my grampa's letter home to his folks last year, just another sad reminder of the grave losses suffered by so many.

Uncle Leon who had a special girl waiting at home.

Uncle Leon who had this portrait displayed in his father's parlor. A father who served in our Civil War. This portrait displayed on an easel rushing on into the years that led up to WWII when his nephews took up arms yet again.

Uncle Leon, falling in a small town in France during the Battle of St Mihiel. He was buried in a regimental cemetery , then shipped home and buried with ceremony in the 20s in his home town of Hanover, Massachusetts.

Uncle Leon who somehow managed to get a copy of his ears on my dad and then I, with slightly mismatched ones have one on my left side. Amazingly, so does my niece, S, one on the very same side as the ear of Leon we see in his portrait.

The portrait my aunt gave me, just because I guess I'm the keeper of the stories for now.

Uncle Leon, rest in peace, we remember your sacrifice.



In the late 70s I visited the beautiful area of France where my grandfather, Clare, fought with his brother Leon and two future brothers in law. Country boys from an American small town pitching in, doing their bit. Years later I was able to show my grandfather the 35mm slides I took on that trip so he could see how lovely had become again. My grampa died shortly after.

Stories

For the Record,
This day came in sunny with clouds , blue skies and warm temperatures for November.

All hands healthy.

Happy Birthday to my sister in law, D. xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.