Today is a new day...

By Quaver

Leaf

Armistice Day

Such a lot to think about in the 2 minute silence.

Those who died in action, the civilians who died, the devastation of the families left bereft and the men and women who survived but would be forever changed by their experience.

It wasn't until recently when I read a book about the experience of a little girl, set during the Clydebank Blitz that it hit home to me how utterly devastating the dreadful ordeal of it all had been. My Mum was a little girl during the Blitz and we grew up with her stories of life during that time, the bombed houses, the evacuations, the gas masks and the air raid shelters, the people who snored at the Shelters, the homemade box for the cat etc.

It wasn't until I read that book though that I fully realised the full horror of the time.
People show such resilience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.