River of Flowers

By doffy

A Most Surprising Day ...

Took the car to Amlwch for it's MoT and Service.

I had nearly three hours to waste so walked down to Amlwch Port. When I was there a couple of weeks ago I noticed a new café, Quay Café. I know the owner, we worked at the same place a few years ago. They serve excellent coffee too!

The photos in today's blip are of equipment from an old ship, these were on display at the back of the café. I was shocked to realise they were from the SS Rhostrevor, my grandfather was on a ship of the same name in 1907, is it too much of a coincidence?!

I then went in search of a lady we called Auntie Ella, she is our Sailor's godmother and I have intended visiting her. To cut a long story, I tracked her down to a retirement home and it was lovely seeing her looking very well. She is well into her nineties, I was too polite to enquire as to her age!

Back to the garage to pick the car up, MoT failed because one of the rear doors does not respond to the central locking - permanently locked! I've ordered a new lock and need to go back next Thursday to have it fitted.

On the way home I called in another retirement home to deliver a card and chocolates to Derek who lived around the corner from us, he is 97 years old tomorrow! He looks very well and was asking after MrD!

Spent the rest of the day making a few more earrings and quietly contemplating my exciting morning ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.