Wares

As you can see, it was a coats on day today, or at least for those not accustomed to the climate of Scotland. We only ventured out once during the day, and we got a bit soggy whilst we were out. These two ladies, who normally sell their wares on the other side of the street, along the church wall, had set themselves up under the eaves of a building, to avoid the rain, and were happily crocheting/knitting/embroidering. There had been thunder and lightning during the night, and there was more of it in the afternoon after I'd taken this photograph. I suspect they probably gave up and went home given the monsoons that we had to put up with later on.

They were happy enough for me to take a picture of them (actually I took two - one with the little ixus and then one with my own camera after Alf kindly popped back up nine flights of stairs to the apartment on the fourth floor to retrieve it for me), and it would have been churlish to express a view about which of their wares I would have preferred them to hold up for us to admire.

By this evening the weather had eased, and we enjoyed a pleasant stroll across the peninsula to a restaurant where we met with some colleagues from the Department for a sort of farewell dinner. And tomorrow I have to woman up and do a presentation! By way of preparation, I'm rereading some of the books that I sent out here, including the one that attracted most comment last time around, namely How to Write Badly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.