Old favourite

This evening L and I went to see Withnail & I at the Filmhouse. Wonderful to see it again up on the big screen and, despite having seen it so many times before, we both still noticed little things we hadn't spotted or heard before. It's such a great film, with so many memorable lines, as the publicity team for this re-release clearly know, with the poster outside designed to featuring a number of favourite quotes apparently scribbled around the central image. Before we went we wondered if we might be bothered by people saying the lines aloud along with the actors on screen but in the end no one did, or at least I didn't hear them. And if I'm honest, I was a little disappointed that they didn't. Perhaps I should have done it myself. I wonder could they have a participatory Withnail & I? A bit like the Sound of Music screenings they do, or the Richard III performances in Jasper Fforde's books. Swear along with Withnail :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.