"Aspiration" by Roderick Burgess

Working from home today and tomorrow before heading to Sydney on the weekend to visit Tsuken and family, and then attend a conference at the end of next week. Took the opportunity to have a leisurely start and delayed my run. When I went out I had left only just enough time for a circuit that brought me back past the boys' school in time to collect them.

Along Mayoral Drive I saw (for the first time) a bronze figure down some steps into Lorne Street. It has apparently been there for 30 to 40 years, having been commissioned by and donated to Auckland City by a nearby business, Parisian Neckwear. Since then, the creation of Mayoral Drive has divided Upper Lorne Street right here, and the business has departed.

It appears that the sculptor was inspired by a line from Shakespeare (Troilus and Cressida):
'that spirit of his
In aspiration lifts him from the earth'


It is worth seeing in large

Since yesterday, when I joined the Art and Architecture Group, I have created a personal tag for the sculptures I have photographed over the last almost four years. This, then, is another in my personal sculpture series

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.