Lift Off!

I spent most of this cold, sunny day doing the usual post-vacation chores, but by late afternoon, I needed to get out, and wanted to pick up some library books on hold. I stopped by Lake Padden first; the sun was already down behind the trees, and the light was falling fast. This female Mallard, positioned where the fading sunlight was strongest, seemed to be showing off for me.

Several people commenting on yesterday's blip noted what a long travel day we'd had, which included time between flights and an hour's wait between our arrival in Seattle and the departure of our bus for Bellingham. (The bus made several stops before Bellingham). Curious, I looked up the driving distance from Austin to Bellingham, and found that it was 2,500 miles (4,023 kilometers)!

It's a bit of a shock to be thrust into winter temperatures so suddenly--the sunny days are welcome, but the cold nights make me want to hibernate. I hope we don't have snow until the holidays are over!

Blip 1087





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.