a town called E.

By Eej

Lessons learned

Yesterdays indulgence made me realise I'm really too old for said indulgences. And too smart. Or I should have been, anyway.
This morning the world was just a little too loud and a little too bright.

The Beloved made me French toast/wentelteefjes and around 11 he said:" Okay, I need you to put in your contacts, put on a sweatshirt and come downstairs. I've got something interesting."
I thought he had downloaded something, or did some HDR experimenting. Especially when he said it wasn't ready yet.
So, I was browsing around a little and just as I started to read an e-mail from my brother-in-law, just as I read the word 'Skype' there were noises and the Beloved said:"Come here!" And there they all were. My mama, my sisters, brother-in-laws, nieces, nephews, my godchild, everyone. On camera.

And there I was, for all to see: unshowered, with mascara underneath my eyes, in pajamapants and a hoodie. I hid behind the Beloved for a bit, but hey, if you can't be yourself with family it's a sad world.

I 'met' my great-nephew Fred for the first time. He's awesome. Obviously :)

We laughed and talked, made fun of eachother.
It was so good seeing everyone.

But now I miss 'm all so much more than I did yesterday. Or last month. Or last year.

I realised that part of the reason I'm so bad at staying in touch is because of this. It's true that you don't know what you miss until it's gone, but it's just as true that you don't miss what is gone as much if it's indeed gone. If that makes sense.

Still, it was TOTALLY worth it.
So thank you, Gejus, for setting it up. I'm still smiling :)



We had some beautiful light going on just before sunset but it made the garden look like it's autumn. Odd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.