Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Butcher's knots

Maybe this should be entitled 'food photography for designers'.

I have photographed food items before, but never told the whole story of a dish.

I worked as a designer for around 25 years being the recipient of photography I had commissioned. This time I thought, what would I shoot if I commissioned myself.

The recipe is stuffed sea bass with a Brussel sprout salad and celeriac mash. there are many ingredients including all spice berries, white pepper and cranberries. The complexity I thought required ingredient details which I shot both with and without a shadow.

It took me 9 hours in total to follow the recipe and take the shots. Exhausting, but worth doing.

The butcher's knot meanwhile is a highly functional 2 part ligature which enables you to make a tourniquet then secure it tightly. Have a look here.

Here are the rest of the recipe shots. It doesn't seem that much for 9 hours work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.