Runhills

By Runhills

More family history

Following on from last weekends family history research my mother gave me a bag of old photo's which identifies a lot of the names that I uncovered. She also had details of some of the construction works that her Father and Grandfather were involved in.
The picture shows part of a booklet entitled 'Stanmore's New Railway', detailing construction of the extension line to Stanmore in Middlesex built between 1930 and 1932.
My Granddad was involved and according to the references supplied by his employer at the end of the contract he "was responsible for the setting out (including several bridges, culverts and heavy drainage works) and measuring up the whole of the work for certificate purposes".
I will eventually get round to scanning the material and some of it will end up on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.