Clams

On my way to the Diamond Harbour Camera club meeting tonight, I decided to have a picnic tea over the hill in Port Levy.

After scoffing down my quiche and potato salad, I went for a walk on the beach at the bottom of the hill and along the small stream that empties into the bay in front of Horomaka island.

The birds - oystercatchers, black backed gulls and white face herons mainly - watched me with great intent as I wandered over the winkle, mussel and barnacle coated foreshore. As I got to the rivers edge amongst the sedges I came across this carpet of clams, most of which had been emptied by the avian hordes.

Incidentally, the camera club talk was a good one, given by visiting guest Sharon Brophy from Lyttelton. Check out her work here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.