My Piece of History

What a surprise yesterday evening when a parcel was delivered and in it was the poppy I bought so long ago. Surprised because they kept warning us that the poppies might not arrive until after Christmas. How slick must the operation of dismantling and packaging be, all by volunteers, for this one to arrive so quickly.

It is simply beautiful. It was packed in a lovely box and has a really nice informative booklet with it. There is a sturdy metal ‘stem’ and various washers and pacers to use, when we finally decide where it is to be ‘planted’. For now I just love to look at it. I am especially moved to see it has a few marks on it, showing that it has really been one of the ones at the Tower, standing out in all weathers.

I just wonder whether I got this one on one of my photographs when it really was in the moat, being looked at by so many people.

(There may be a few of these blipped today, if others have received them.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.