My 40th year

By 54r4h

Flat tyre

Today started off swimmingly, full of energy from my gym session I tackled a corner of the bedroom that has become a dumping ground of epic proportions - I found lots of long lost jewellery, next doors tent instructions, photos, cds, books, a bag of catnip, candles, medicines, Christmas tree decorations and a tub of black board paint amongst a lot of rubbish. The process sucked the life force out of me.

I jumped in the car with the 2 Heidi's on our mad dash to gymnastics, zoomed out the drive and recognised the walloping sound of a completely flat tyre. Claire rescued the gymnasts and I set about changing the tyre. I am completely capable of doing this job but was thwarted by a completely useless wrench. My next door neighbour came out for morale support, then the down the road neighbour helped out with some practical tips then my over the road neighbour apologetically approached admitting no knowledge whatsoever, finally diagonal neighbour came just to chat with the other neighbours. With their encouragement I overcame the useless wrench and loosened all but one of the wheel nuts. All for nothing though as the locking wheel nut resisted all encouragement, tips, strength and swearing. The breakdown man came and almost gave up too. My neighbour whisked India off to ballet class and Heidi was returned by Claire. In the end a special tool was whacked in place with a sledgehammer to make a new impression that the super powered power tool could grip onto and get it off.

I was in need of wine and cake desperately, India had forgotten her homework and I had to phone round for a friend to text me a photo of the sheet. Both girls require hilarious headbands or barmy bows for charity day at school tomorrow. There was no wine or cake or biscuits to be found, I had to comfort eat some falafel - it did not hit the required spot. I have since found a flat bar of toblerone and decided to go to bed instead of staying up getting grumpy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.