Around the Block

By Barrioboy

Low Level Traveller

I'm seldom satisfied with films that try to reproduce scenes of everyday life in historical times. The costumes always seem too new, the accoutrements of daily activities too clean, the streets too anaesthetised, the actors trying too hard. I always want a tighter, grittier shot...'Zoom in, get down low...let's see it as it was from ankle level!'. My personal Palm D'Or goes to Stephen Speilberg and his opening scenes of 'Saving Private Ryan'.

I have a title to a TV series that I would love to write and produce which would embody this ethos, and maybe only now understand that the realisation of it is in my hands...to propose or just do!

Anyway, here we are in the streets of Luxor on a normal working day observing the criss-crossing pursuits of a multitude of daily activities relevant to the people of this town. Seeing a scene like this has always been the hook that has made me travel and want to travel more, far more potent an incentive than visiting iconic sights although they can also create, undeniably, 'magic moments' in our lives.

But none are more magical for me than coming out of a garden gate onto this Luxor street...yes, I know, it isn't exactly zoomed in nor has it an ankle level POV, but I hope you get my point!

Now off to the Son e Lumier show at Karnak Temple; we are but the sum of our talents and contradictions!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.