An Artist's Life

By MariB

County Building

Today a dash down to the County Building to get a new license plate for one of my autos. The line was long, but a man saved my place while I went back out to take a couple of blip-pix. When I returned he and a friend asked what I was doing with the pictures and I told them about blip. They were mighty curious about the language barriers since blip is so Euro-centric. I said everyone wrote in English. That started a conversation about the lack of foreign language as a mandatory subject in schools. When I went to school, of course we wrote our lessons with rocks and flint, but you were required to take at least 2 years of a foreign language. They don't do that anymore...and that's a pity. I took 4 years of Latin and can probably debate any ancient Roman on the Forum steps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.