More fishy business

The fishermen were selling their morning's catch on the quay again and I came away with half a dozen herring, a whiting and a pollock, £3 the lot.
Later I had a gutting session in the rain - once a way of life for local people, known hereabouts as Sgadan Abergwaun, Fishguard herrings.
I was startled to find a whole smaller fish, sprat-size, in a sort of sac inside one of them and for a moment thought, O no, it was pregnant! before I remembered that these are not viviparous fish and it had simply done what I was going to do i.e. have a fish supper.

On the bus to the harbour I chatted with the old sea-dog and told him where I was headed. I only ever eat fish, he said, haven't touched meat for years, it gives you cancer...
Approaching the end of his 9th decade who am I to say otherwise?

A few more of the day's shots, from fisherman to fillets, starting here.

I am overwhelmed by the response to yesterday's blip, one of my most popular ever. Thank you for the appreciation, stars and hearts, and the sensitive and thoughtful comments. It was only on a last minute whim that I did it but the words seemed to flow off my pen keys, so the old documents must have been overdue for an airing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.