Up North

By Carwij

Corylus avellana, Male catkins

Aka Hazel. Spotted my first spring sign, pfffffff.
Wikipedia says: The flowers are produced very early in spring, before the leaves, and are monoecious with single-sex wind-pollinated catkins. Male catkins are pale yellow and 5?12 cm long, while female catkins are very small and largely concealed in the buds with only the bright red 1?3 mm long styles visible. The fruit is a nut, produced in clusters of one to five together, each nut held in a short leafy involucre ("husk") which encloses about three quarters of the nut.
The things you learn after you start blipping!

Today was also the first day that we had the same two visitors that dropped by every day last spring, here's one of them. He's standing on top of my bike shed and kept looking at me as if he wanted to say 'hey! you remeber me do you, I remember the bread you've been feeding us, thus......'
I think this fellow wants to keep his girl to himself, they hid in the bushes of my front yard last year until nesting and I was so surprised to see them back today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.