The view

This is, for reasons that will be obvious to readers in Scotland at least , back blipped

On Thursday I used the last of the afternoon light to record for one last time (I have blipped versions of it on several occasions) the great view I had looked at so often since I moved into my (former) office on the third floor of the Ministerial Tower of the Parliament.

I have had the enormous privilege to be a Minister in the Scottish Government for 7 years, 6 months and 4 days. For 1815 of those days I have served as Cabinet Secretary for Education and Lifelong Learning which is not only I am told a Scottish record but also (according to this bizarre website about UK Education Secretaries which someone sent to me) probably a UK one as well.

A more relevant measure of that time for those who kindly follow my blips as well as for myself is that I started blipping , which I can hardly remember not doing, only 13 days before I came into the post though I did not get into daily photography for another year.

Interestingly as one Blipper leaves the Scottish Cabinet, though, another enters it. My good friend Roseanna Cunningham , the new Cabinet Secretary for Fair Work, Skills & Training , will now have the chance to record some of the back room moments that I have been very lucky to experience including this , just on Tuesday past.

I have explained my reasons elsewhere but putting it simply Nicola’s reshuffle - just 18 months out from the 2016 Scottish Parliament election - was a good time for the torch to pass and Angela Constance is a great and experienced choice to undertake what is a wonderful job. The gender balanced cabinet is hugely important too.

I am greatly honoured to be the representative of a fantastic ,vast constituency in Scotland’s National Parliament and I am looking forward to doing even more to help and support and speak for my constituents and also to be involved in some other non education issues that are close to my heart .

There are many other things I want to get on with as well - including taking more ( and better) pictures.

So watch this space.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.