Bob20

By Bob20

On the way home

A splendid trip to India. To any one who hasn’t been, or is contemplating going, you must do it!!!

As our guide said when we first met him: “India is not a vacation, an experience”!

And on our way to the hotel for our last night, our taxi driver said when I commented on the excellent driving abilities of himself and his countrymen:

“This is India, anything can happen”☺

Driving will never be the same for me again ☺

It has not been the countryside, the landscape or the palaces and temples that have inspired me most, but the people. It does not matter how poor or wealthy they may be, the politeness, manners and sheer desire to work and please is actually quite humbling. I have never been welcomed so much, by so many people. We have much to learn. India is rich in many ways, if not economically so.

Because the Indian Nationals are so pleased to help, it becomes so obvious how impolite we can unintentionally be.

I will certainly return home with a vastly different view of India than the one I had in my mind’s eye before I left England and I hope a great deal of what I have learnt I put into practice.

Our last day has been spent travelling back to New Delhi. On sunday we fly home, but not before I manage to post my last blip from here.

No opportunity really to photograph anything blipable from a taxi, ( and I've blipped a tuk tuk), but I did see this man really enjoying a smoke in his shop. My apologies for posting another portrait, but this was never really a landscape photographic trip, although I have managed a few.

Thanks for travelling around India with me, I hope you have enjoyed it as much as I have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.