An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Happy 30th, Luke!!

Except his birthday was yesterday, Saturday... the party rolled on to after 2 (ish) this morning...

Whereas I had 2,000 lumen to play about with in yesterday's Blip, I had the sum total of two lumen (candlepower) for this manually focussed grab shot, at 10,000 iso, my highest ever in a Blip!

Happiness and Friendship, Luke (in the front) is dancing (I think) while two of his young friends find much to laugh about! The two candles, the entire light source, are on the mantelpiece behind them.

Yes, it is grainy and soft but I was determined to get a spontaneous shot and they all had very much in mind moody groovy dancing and not photography in their choice of lighting. I was also determined to get one of Luke, one not totally blurred, his back to me or making gestures that would make Blip HQ blush...

Luke is nearing completion all his studies to becoming a lawyer, up in London. Many of the 20 odd friends had come down from London for the party. I gave Luke the DVD of Peter Greenaway's 'Nightwatching', a most stylish and Arthouse film about Rembrandt. He has a degree in Art History and so only the best for him!

Lens is Nikkor D 50mm f1.4

I got back home to find that I had TWO Blips in the Spotlights - how lovely is that?! I MUST get my sleep now - keeping fit by walking does help you keep up grooving with 20 and 30 year olds but you soon notice the fatigue afterwards! This is what keeps you young - the company you keep......... Goodnight!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.