'Rob Roy Hill Climb'

On the way to pick up the kids this morning we noticed a sign saying 'Rob Roy Hill Climb' today at Christmas Hills.

I had absolutely no idea what the event was, but was curious enough to drive back there this afternoon to have a look as it's only about 10 or 15km from home. Turns out it's an event put on my the MG Club of Australia and it's a time trial car race for classic & historic cars up a designated hill track on a private property. At the time the track was built in 1935 it was one of only three purpose built, bitumen surfaces hill climbs in the world, the other two were at Shelsley Walsh and Prescott in the UK.

Unfortunately I arrived just as the last racer was taking off up the hill. There were lots of people and cars that had already left for the day which was in my favour a bit because it allowed me to park my car right near the pits (for free) and wander through in amongst the cars and drivers that were still there. I only stayed there and wandered around for 15 or twenty minutes as everyone was packing up for the day. This bloke was just driving his car up on the the back of his trailer as I was leaving.

Later this afternoon myself and the kids watched Alice In Wonderland (the new version with Johnny Depp as the Hatter), really great characters, styling and makeup.

Dylan has been at me ever since we got home to go out the back to kick the soccer ball with him, which I finally did once the temperature had cooled down a bit this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.