Heralds and poursuivants

I went, this morning, to the celebratory procession to mark the 225th anniversary of the laying of the foundation stone of Old College. The reason to mark this slightly odd anniversary, is because Old College (or at least its north side, and some of the rest of it) is about to undergo a major once-in-a-century refurbishment, mainly to provide fit premises for the Law School. Ultimately, the lunch was a fundraising exercise. We gathered at Parliament House, and walked in procession to Old College, all be-gowned and be-wigged. There were plenty of representatives of legal and 'traditional' Scotland in evidence. One candidate blip was a picture of me and one of my predecessors in the chair I hold. When I arrived, I saw there were quite a lot of people dressed in scarlet. Who are they, I asked a man who would know (our resident professor of civil law). Oh he said, quick as a flash, they are heralds and poursuivants. Cool.

I was sitting opposite one at lunch, which enabled me to take a closer look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.