The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Gold coast

The view into the golden sands* of Morecambe Bay as the sun sets well left of Humphrey Head's nose as seen from the coastal footpath from Far Arnside towards Park Point. The heron was fishing in the golden water, and a gull flew past as I framed the shot.

I left Southampton early, determined to get back in time to take Gus for his afternoon walk before it got dark. I had a clear run all the way, taking just over 5 hours with one short stop. I was home in time for lunch, before going to pick Gus up from Over Kellet where Wifie was doing her course.

I had two full days in the south, two visits to the cottage hospital in the New Forest where the Old Flyer has been for a few weeks. I arrived unannounced on Friday, and his face lit up in a beaming smile that lasted for 5 minutes or more. He was looking well and alert, and he did whisper something in my ear (that can't be repeated here) that made me laugh out loud, and kept me smiling all evening. Ed and Anna arrived a little later and it was a good family occasion.

Yesterday when I went in, he was very tired, perhaps the visits the day before had taken too much out of him. So it was with a heavy heart that I said my goodbyes and went back to the house to pack for the early start today. If all goes well, he will be allowed home next Tuesday, and he has a package of social and medical care lined up until the New Year. The stairlift has been installed (and I tried it out, only 1 crawler gear alas), and the hospital have delivered various frames and seats which should help. We shall try and get back down in a few weeks time, and hopefully take Gus: the Old Flyer is keen to see him again.

Contrary to the usual expectations, the weather up here is much better than down south (where I have always teased my father that he lives in a rain shadow). The skies were uniformly grey and it rained. I took no photographs in three days (so no back blips).

My apologies that I am so far behind with comments. I've been away from blip world since I left home on Thursday morning..

* Sands = mud

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.