The abandoned bear

Slowly getting back to normal after the week in Australia; even so I woke late as I had deliberately arranged my work for the day to begin late in the morning. That meant that there were more people about as I took my morning run.

On the way from the start of Ponsonby Road at the intersection with Great North Road to my turn around point at Three Lamps, I passed two patrons sitting outside the One2One Cafe. The man in the black top and his back to the window had a slightly pained appearance, as green shirt was talking to him.

I noticed that black top had the NZ Herald open at the page with the cryptic crossword puzzle, and a pen on the paper. I figured that he was being prevented from enjoying his coffee and crossword by the conversation, and carried on.

On the way back they were being joined by another, who had just sat down as I stopped to get a photo. I took it fairly quickly, as I realised that green shirt had noticed, and was wondering at the reason. I didn't notice till I got back home, that crossword man was pointing at his paper, and talking. I imagined that he was telling the newcomer of his frustrated desire to finish the crossword.

It was even later that I saw the bear left on an adjacent table.

Today is Young L's 7th birthday. Mondays we have Grandsons and daughters with us for the evening meal. Young L asked that it be roast lamb, potatoes and kumara. Also he requested a chocolate cake. Asked by Granny what he wanted as a present, he said "a book, please." He did not want any toy, game or ... Delightful that he prefers books as presents.

Thanks to everyone who visited my journal yesterday when I posted blip Nø 1460. As well as being rewarded with a red globe, the photo was on the spotlight pages for most of the day. Thank you to all who helped that happen. My obsessional nature does regard today as the last day of the fourth calendar year for which I have been blipping. Posting another photo of a Ponsonby Road cafe seems appropriate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.