Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Scope

Why not play some Avatar music while reading this?

From a photographic point of view I have felt a little jaded of late. I ought to have known that all I really needed was to get out to some nearby vantage spot and soak up some space for a little while. Fixes me up most every time. I may not be any more inspired than I was before but at least I now realise that none of that really matters ... at least for a little while.

Unlike the last couple of days it was a perfect time for this sort of thing. According to the website, right about when I shot this image, the temperature would have been no more than 21 degrees. Nice and gentle.

Anyway you may be interested in why I called this image "Scope". Evidently this was an all purpose expression used by cinematographers for anamorphic wide screen. Ultimately Panavision stretched it to 2.66:1 but the most common of several aspect ratios for Cinemascope releases stood at 2.4:1 which are the exact proportions of the image above. Just a bit of trivia for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.