Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Mixed Grill With Ears, Anyone?

After my thoughts yesterday about the glut of fungi at this time of year and wondering if they were edible, I thought I'd continue the theme knowing I certainly would not want to eat these.

Auricularia auricula-judae, the ear of Judas, known as the Jew's ear grows every year on a stump of tree in our garden. Slimy-locking things!

Imagine how I felt when I Googled Jew's ear to get the spelling of the Latin name, and found that it was edible! (Sorry Kaybee!) Oh! No thank you! However it apparently has a strong flavour and is used in Chinese dishes and medicine.

So, later in the evening I was to find that ears were a significant subject when I visited The Mother in hospital. She could hear me, even though she only had one hearing aid in. Secondly, I could hear her very clearly today. I am getting better at responding to her hallucinations and was able to marvel at all the printing she had managed to get done.

When I thought she was back in the real world I asked her if there was anything she would like to read but she told me she had far to many other things to be doing!

So, she's comfortable and happy and I am expecting a meeting, with all involved, to discuss her future care, at the end of next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.