don376

By don376

Altrincham - my home town...

I was wandering back to my office today thinking "what would make a good blip" and so I thought I would share my home town with BlipWorld. Altrincham has been my home town for many years and has definitely seen better days - it is great shame but with out of town shopping malls etc. poor old Altrincham has taken a few knocks. And "old" Altrincham it definitely is - first mentioned in the Domesday Book in 1086 it has been a thriving market town ever since. Much of that is gone now but what remains is slowly being renovated and today's blip is a good example of such a building. It is known as Station Buildings and has just been totally renovated and now available as office / shop space. Its been empty for over 30 years but now returned to its former glory. Can you see some of the original architecture remains - the tall chimneys to carry away the black smoke. The arched entrance to an inner courtyard - they still drove horse and carriages in those days! And the beautiful ornate moulding with the date 1905 on it. They certainly knew how to build in those days - sadly an art that has been mostly lost as you can see by my final picture of Tesco's! (Best viewed Large )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.