Worker on a Scaffold

We were heading for the ICP this afternoon, when I saw this worker on Sixth Avenue (probably at 42nd St.), taking apart scaffolding on a building next to the sidewalk. I had no more than a second or two to make the shot--he was moving fast. Even as I focused, I thought of this superb and iconic image by Lewis Hine. An email commentator was also reminded of "the classic images of men on scaffolding during the construction of the Empire State Building, and of Charlie Chaplin in Modern Times."

At the ICP (International Center of Photography) we saw a show entitled Genesis by Sebastiao Salgado. It's marvelous, filling the entire gallery space. It was also poignant, since the ICP is losing its lease and will be moving to deepest lower Manhattan (stay tuned).

Marylee left me at that point, and I went to experience a show arranged by Marina Abramovic, called Generator. It involved spending time in a room blindfolded with sound-blocking earphones, occasionally bumping against other participants (guinea pigs?). It was interesting, and I held out for 25 minutes.

Tomorrow we're off to New Jersey to my son Raphael, for a family Thanksgiving celebration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.