Grater

A dose of art, which can evoke an intuitive response becomes all the more meaningful in the context of activities that are counter-intuitive. Somewhere beneath that layer of romantic appeal seems to lie a framework of reason which adds to the quality with which we can appreciate art. There is often an overlap between quality art and philosophy, both operate on the edges, expanding thought, and like a guiding light taking it forward. If creative freedom is misused and substituted instead with rigidity of opinion, or even a lack of economy, quality is lost. Good art has layers and you can return to it. It can give you the illusion that it evolves with you, when in truth it is far ahead and each time you return to it, it offers something new. I can return to Tagore on each step of my way. If it brings me nothing new, that's a good indicator of mental stagnation and a sign to move on.

Extracts from Tagore's Stray Birds:

"The world puts off its mask of vastness to its lover.
It becomes small as one song, as one kiss of the eternal."

"The mystery of creation is like the darkness of night--it is great. Delusions of knowledge are like the fog of the morning."

"Do not seat your love upon a precipice because it is high."

"What you are you do not see, what you see is your shadow."

"My wishes are fools, they shout across thy songs, my Master.
Let me but listen."


The photo is of our very basic grater which I have found difficult to use. When I was looking at it yesterday, I thought I might be able to make an abstract photograph out of it. So with the one preconception, I shot this. Again, didn't feel like processing. Shot in monochrome this time.

It feels like a friday. And plans for the weekend are underway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.