Thomas Hood Was Only Partially Correct

No sun - no moon!
No morn - no noon -
No dawn - no dusk - no proper time of day.
No warmth, no cheerfulness, no healthful ease,
No comfortable feel in any member -
No shade, no shine, no butterflies, no bees,
No fruits, no flowers, no leaves, no birds! -
November!

My sister and I went for a walk at Burnham-on-Crouch after dealing with Homestead business. The first three lines of the poem summed up the day perfectly. The featureless sky, the silky river and the smooth mud blended into a soft, almost monochrome entity. We weren't cold though, very cheerful, comfortable and completely at ease. True no shade or shine but the better for it. Certainly there were not many insects about but I photographed some bright yellow violas in a cobalt blue planter that punctuated the muted scene.

Yes birds! I've been looking forward to photographing waders. I'm not quite sure what these are. Maybe godwits or greenshanks? Would love it if someone could identify them for me.

PS I'm almost sure that they are black tailed godwits as they have straight bills and long legs with their knees well below their breasts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.