Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie enjoys his back green

Another dreich day. But it wasn't actually raining all day, just a general wetness which seeped into your bones if you happened to potter about outside in your cardie.

I'm keen to get the lawns cut, probably for the last time this year. I took a notion to attack a big bush that hangs over a shared wall and drops white berries (Archie's probably eaten quite few of them) and millions tiny little matchstick seedlings all over our bit.

Meanwhile, Archie was also out in the back green, supervised, as per new regime. He did find a couple of lost pieces of washing, but mostly he ran around and played with the football.

We had good fun with our stick game - me spinning round in the middle until I had to hold on to the washing line pole lest I toppled over. I must say - that tires him out nicely. And me.

I expended some very high value treats to lure him to come into the kitchen each time. They look good enough for me to eat - little calcium bone shaped sticks wrapped in what looks like prosciutto. Yum yum. I take boring big calcium pills every day - these look like a rather nice snack, with say, a glass of prosecco.

Aga Saga: Apparently the Aga that the previous owners installed is in fact, unsafe. The required distances are not as per specifications. The chap is coming round this evening to re-acquaint himself with his handiwork and propose what's to be done.

The parents were very happy with the few baby photos that worked!

Edit: Update on Aga... He can't come tonight. Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.