Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

After the Rehearsal

First of all, let me emphasize that despite this being the second gloomy image in a row, this journal has NOT descended into a perpetual orgy of depressive navel gazing and "quests for meaning". Second of all, let me say that despite this location being merely metres from yesterday's, this image WAS indeed captured on a different occasion entirely.

My very last foray into theatre lighting and sound for the year is the "Dance for Life" concert (you guessed it) at the Blackheath Community Centre. Bump-in and set up began at 9:00 am this morning. The rehearsal finished at about 9:15 pm tonight. Norma (stage manager) and I had been there ALL day and (to put it politely) we were fairly "done in". Dinner at the Piedmont Inn was called for, along with an acceptable bottle of red wine. Outside it was drizzling and foggy and just a little cold.

As we exited to the footpath, it dawned on me. No blip. True to my emerging philosophy regarding EBs, I decided to shoot "what-is-in-front-of-me-at-the-time" ... and here it is, just outside the Piedmont, looking north along a deserted highway. An intriguing lone figure seems engaged with a parked car.

I did toy with the idea of going Film Noir ... but didn't. What do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.