Simply Me

By Suze981

HQ

I travelled to London today for the Policy & Public Affairs team planning meeting. This is Marie Curie HQ.

My day:

4am alarm call
6.20am flight
9.15am briefing the organisation on the Smith Commission recommendations
10.15am - 5pm team planning
5.30pm - 8pm dinner and drinks
8.30pm lying on my hotel bed, knackered!

It's been a long day but it's been really nice to meet the full team, and my counterparts in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

It's made me further appreciate what a wonderful time this is for Scotland. The referendum and Smith Commission that followed (who published their recommendations today) has raised the political will and consciousness in the country. A substantial amount of people now have an idea of politics and how policy making can affect them. This isn't true everywhere. It makes it an incredibly exciting time to work in policy and public affairs.

Ok I'm going to stop being a policy geek now and read my book before bed!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.